Warm autumn sunshine made good for good conditions and with the likes of Melanie Peddle, Noel Blatchford and Grazina Manzotti vying for honours at the Euro Masters championships in Italy, Hercock Award recipients saving themselves for their big race next week and several still on holiday, it was a small field that faced the starter.

Small field it might have been, but history was made when the first England Athletic Race Walk PB Awards were attained by young walkers Ellin Cooper and Lily-Ann Cooper and RWA President Chris Hobbs was on hand to present them with their certificates. Three senior competitors also received certificates. It is hoped that this scheme will encourage other walkers especially young athletes in general, to try the discipline with this scheme providing a clear objective and pathway to improve.

Phil Barnard continued his comeback in good style winning easily, but as with most of the fixtures this season the hotly contested competition was at the head of the ladies race. On this occasion it was Jacqui Benson and Emma Dyos. Following a period of poor health Francisco Reis made a tentative start to his comeback by restricting himself to 5km and it was nice to see ERWL stats man Jon May in action again.



0		Metres			Metres		
1. Phil Barnard	(unattached)	10.812мз5	1. Jaqueline Benson	(Ashford AC)	10.166sw		
2. Colin Harle	(Belgrave H)	9.955 M65	2.Emma Dyos	(Ilford AC)	10.126 w45		
3. Stuart Bennett ©	(Ilford AC)	9.434 м60	3. Penelope Cummings(Herne H H)		9.725 w45		
4. David Ainsworth ©	(Ilford AC)	6.310м75	4. Sue Barnett	(Enfield H AC)	8.387w70		
			5. Livia Corneciu	(Loughton AC)	8.068w40		
10km times:Phil Barnard 55.11.9EABP level 4, Jacqueline Benson 59.06.8EABP level 3, Emma Dyos 59.18.7EABP level 2							
B Race							
1. Simon Morgan	(Ilford AC)	8.945 M55	1. Sue Clements ©	(Cambs/Colrge)	7.813 w65		
2. John Ralph	(Enfield H AC)	7.788M65	2. Sheila Leavy	(N.Herts RR)	7.241w70		
3. Chris Flint ©	(Surrey WC)	7.432 м75	3. Shaheda Arthur	(Ilford AC)	5.444 w60		
4. Jon May	(Enfield H AC)	7.106м70					
Francisco Reis retired	5.2km	/31.52					
Under 13's 2,000m:Ellen Wilson (Ashford AC) 11.22.6EABP level 9 - Lily-Ann Cooper (Newmarket J) 14.55.8EABP level 1							
Judges:Peter Cassidy(Chief),Mark Culshaw & Mick Graham,							
Timekeeper: Phil Welch - Recorders:, Pam Ficken ©, John Hall, Carl Lawton ©, George, Tracey & Tony Wilkinson							









Phil Barnard, Emma Dyos and Jacqui Benson, Livia Corneciu leads Sue Clements and Chris Flint, Jon May

### Virtual Result\_

Mark Williams	Birchfield H	
Richard Emsley	Desborough	
Mark Bernatzki	LA/Herten Ger	
Ron Penfold	Steyning AC	
Paul Gaston	Surrey WC	
Mick Graham	Belgrave H	
Tony Perkins ©	Ilford AC5km	

11.320 м55 8.490м70 8.417 м70 8.135м80 34.17м75 40.54 м70

1 hr

1 hr

1 hr

1 hr

5km

5km

Cath Duhig ©	CA Millennium	10km	66.00w65
Karen Williams	Birchfield H	10km	81.19 w70
Fiona Bishop	(Enfield H AC)	8.387w70	

## 

# Next ERWL Fixture "Ilford Celebration Walks"

(Permit RWA23050-1)

u13 2km, u15 4km, u17 6km, u20/Seniors 10km

Saturday 14<sup>th</sup> October at 1pm

at Hylands Park, Hornchurch, Essex, RM11 1HA

ENTRY ONLINE ONLY at https://www.fabian4.co.uk

### If you have problems entering on line contact ronc893moulton@gmail.com or 07460 041 643

Hylands Park is off Osborne Road, at the Romford end of this long road. As well as a small car park there's free parking in local streets. From Romford Station, high-frequency bus routes 165, 193 and 294 depart from bus Issue No: 431 September/October 2023 stop 'Y' - alight at "Frances Bardsley Academy" which is 5 stops' away. In the other direction bus route 294 stops at Harold Wood Station stop 'B' and Gidea Park Station stop PA - Frances Bardley Academy is also the 5th stop from Gidea Park Station. Also in the other direction, bus route 165 stops at Elm Park Underground Station stop 'C' and bus route 193 stops at Hornchurch Underground Station stop 'L'. Both bus stops at Frances Bardsley Academy are near to Osborne Road - walk along it and Hylands Park is less than 5 minutes on your right. Gidea Park and Harold Wood Stations are on the Elizabeth Line, Hornchurch and Elm Park Stations are on the District Line and Romford is served by the Elizabeth Line, Greater Anglia and London Overground.



Ilford walkers have figured prominently in the Enfield HAC annals: In the 24 editions of the League they have supplied seven individual winners and six other top three finishers. Ilford has also been victorious in the Team competition on nine occasions and only once been outside the top three.

In the historic Enfield Open Seven, Ilford occupied the winners spot on the rostrum on 13 occasions by nine athletes. In 1956's Colin Williams one of the country's top speedsters at the time finished runner up and in the top five finishers in the ensuing six years. More recently Scott Davis was a three time winner and gained distinction in 2011 when he equaled the great Don Thompson's feat of winning six consecutive national 50km titles.

Double EO7 winners John Webb and NeringeMasilioneone both achieved Olympian status for GB and Lithuania respectively. Another Olympian was Roger Mills who represented GB 34 times and won the bronze medal at the 1974 European Games, whilst Centurion Bob Dobson was also a regular in the GB team and was the first walker to complete one hundred 50km in under 5 hours, a remarkable feat.

Of course, there have been many more less illustrious llford walkers who over the years by supporting Enfield events have contributed to the survival of these fixtures and in some way their loyal support is probably more crucial than honour's won

# Stop Press: Leaguers in great form at the Euro Master's championships at Pescara, Italy

In the first walk event, the 5km on Sunday 24<sup>th</sup> September, Grazia Manzotti (W50) 27.39.10 won the Gold medal, Noel Blatchford (75) 35.54 the Silver medal breaking the national record in the process, whilst Melanie Peddle (W55) 27.24.36 also broke the national record, but narrowly missed out on third place.

Another frequenter at the ERWL this year, Ian Richards (M75) 26.57.27 triumphed, taking the gold in his category.