(Newsheet of the Walking Section of Enfield & Haringey AC)
Compiled & produced by Ron Wallwork, 35A, Newmarket Road, Moulton, Suffolk, CB8 8QP - 07460 041 643 – ronc893moulton@gmail.com who apologises for any errors and who welcomes contributions and comments for future issues

Latest League news at http://enfieldleague.weebly.com



ERWL Tables after 5 Fixtures

Following the *Cecil Gittins Meeting* Melanie Peddle remains the overall leader, but with races in hand Dave Annetts and Jonathan Hobbs look set to mount a serious challenge to John Arthur's top spot in the Men's League. In the team competition llford are romping away with a 200 point lead over Enfield, who are coming under pressure from Ashford. *The report and results of the "Cecil Gittins Walks" on 5th June were circulated, but appear overleaf*.

Individual Tables Ladies	Men Virtual League (mixed)		
1. 321/5 Melanie Peddle (50)	1. 313/5 John Arthur (60)	1. 294/5 Cath Duhig © (65)	
2. 237/4 Maureen Noel (60)	2. 279/4 Dave Annetts (55)	2. 272/5 Marco Bernatzki (50)	
3. 233/5 Shaheda Arthur (60)	3. 261/5 Simon Morgan (55)	3. 247/4 Mark Williams (55)	
4. 229/4 Sue Barnett (70)	4. 260/5 John Borgars © (75	4. 208/5 Tony Perkins ©(70)	
5. 216/4 Fiona Bishop (60)	5. 218/4 Chris Hobbs (65)	5. 181/3 Richard Emsley (70)	
6. 191/3 Jessica Wilton (u20)	6. 208/3 Jonathan Hobbs © (SM)	6. 177/4 Ron Penfold (75)	
7. 188/3 Grazia Manzotti (50)	7. 190/4 Dave Hoben (70)	7. 136/3 Diana Braverman (70	
8. 182/3 Abigail Jennings (SW)	8. 181/3 Stuart Bennett © (60)	8. 131/3 Karen Williams	
9. 130/2 Emma Dyos (45)	9. 169/3 Ian Richards © (M75)	9. 110/2 Keith Vallis (M55)	
10. 114/2 Noel Blatchford (75)	10. 168/3 John Ralph	10. 130/2 Jaqueline Benson (SW)	

Team Table

 Ilford AC' 	988	313 Arthur J, 261 Morgan, 233 Arthur S & 181 Bennett.
2. EHAC	725	229 Barnett, 216 Bishop, 168 Ralph & 112 Walsh.
Ashford AC	683	218 Hobbs C, 208 Hobbs J, 191 Wilton & 66 Benson
4 Loughton AC	581	321 Peddle & 260 Borgars.
5. Belgrave H	474	237 Noel,108 daSilva, 65 Harle & 64 Zennaro
6 Ilford AC "B"	434	130 Dvos 107 Morris 148 Ainsworth & 49 Shillabeer

Action from Cecil Gittins Fixture

Andrew Gamer, Carl Lawton, Mark Culshaw & Pam Ficken







Chris Hobbs, Tony Wilkinson & John Borgars

Abigail Jennings, Jonathan Hobbs & Dave Annetts

Experience a traditional Race Walk on

8th July at The Annual Moulton Walks 5 mile & Junior/Novice 1 mile

More details and entries at: moulton5challenge.weebly.com or from George Wilkinson on 07376 808 650

Entry Fees u17 free, u20 £5, others £10

Kindly assist the organisers by entering in advance or indicating your intention to support this event

The Virtual version of the "Moulton Five"- Performances over the weekend of 8th/9th July to be registered with Richard Emsley r.emsley@btopenworld.com before midnight on 9th July stating name, club, time and Centurion No.

Southern RWA Support to Save Championships

It has been confirmed that there is a £10 subsidy for walkers who support the South of England championships scheduled to take place on Sunday 13th August at Lee Valley Athletic Centre. Entries close on 1st August online at www.seaa.org.uk

The retention of this, one of the few remaining track championships, rests on the walkers' support of it.

Leaguers in Action To qualify for Leaguer Status an athlete must participate in a six ERWL fixtures in a calendar year.

At the **OLAT meeting in Eindhoven** on 27th May Dave Hoben took on 50km and finished 7th in7.51.15. Lancashire's Martin Payne managed 6th in the 50 miles in 11.12.15 and Shah Shailesh was unsuccessful in the 100 miles.

VAC 5 Km Road Walk Cham pionship, **6 June 2023**, **Battersea Park**. The third of the regular Battersea Park races had an average field this time in suitably cool racing conditions.

The men's winner was Dave Annetts 23.59, a fast time about a minute outside his personal best and the ladies' winner, as last year was Melanie Peddle 28.20 also in a good time, just a few seconds outside her personal best. Both had also participated in the testing Cecil Gittins Memorial Walks (10k) only two days earlier. Penelope Cummings 31.12 and ever presents Maureen Noel 31.55 and Fiona Bishop 32.30 made up the top five with 6th placer Sian Baum 34.15 (the only non-leaguer),h Dave Hoben 38.31 and Centurion Chris Flint bringing up the rear.

Over a new circuit at The Bolton Arena on 18th June, the **BMAF 5km road championship** took place. A good field; 10 women and 20 men finished, among them Melanie Peddle 2nd/W50 28.43, Penelope Cummings 2nd/W45 31.25 and Noel Blatchford 1st/W75 35.54 in the ladies race and in the men's, Steve Uttley 1st/M65 and Tony Bell 2nd/M60 29.50. Currently lying 7th in the ERWL, Grazina Manzotti was the W50 winner in 28.15 the quickest lady on the day, as was M60 John Laste's 27.48 in the men's race.

The Centurions request volunteer helpers for our 100 miler being held over the weekend of 19-20th August in Middlesbrough. Perhaps it could be combined with a trip to Whitby or Scarborough. So, if any readers feel able to help, they need not be Centurions, it would be appreciated enormously. They can contact me, Steve Kemp, on 07860617899

2023 ERWL Fixture 5 Results		Cecil Gittins Memorial Races (Permit: RWA23031-1 Cat B)		4th June at Cyclopark, Gravesend				
10km 10km								
1 Jonathan Hobbs ©	Ashford AC	51.43 sм	 Grazia Manzotti 	Tonbridge AC	56.51 w ₅₀			
2 Dave Annetts	North Herts RR	51.47 M55	2 Jacqueline Benson	Ashford AC	61.44 u23			
3 Ian Richards ©	Steyning AC	56.13 M75	3 Sue Davies	Aldershot FD	70.29 w55			
4 Colin Harle	Belgrave H	64.54 M50	4 Kathy Smith	Aldershot FD	74.35 w55			
5 John Arthur	Ilford AC	67.11 м60	5 Noel Blatchford	Abingdon AC	75.33 w75			
6 Simon Morgan	Ilford AC	67.19 м55	dnf Melanie Peddle	Loughton AC	7.5km W55			
7 John Borgars ©	Loughton AC	67.40 M757.5km	5km	-				
8 Chris Flint ©	Surrey WC	81.45 м75	1 Abigail Jennings	Aldershot FD	25 .18 u23			
5km			2 Jessica Wilton	Ashford AC	27.39 u17			
1 Chris Hobbs	Ashford AC	33.28 м65	3 Lola-Mae Billingham	Aldershot FD	30.40 u17			
2 Tony Wilkinson	unattached	34.25 м60	4 Paula Elmslie	Ashford AC	36.24 u20			
3 Dave Hoben	Surrey WC	39.15 м70	5 Shaheda Arthur	Ilford AC	54.57 weo			
4 Ed Shillabeer ©	Ilford AC	45.14 м80	2.5km					
5 Dave Ainsworth ©	Ilford AC	48.29 м70	Elin Wilson	Ashford AC	14.36 u13			

Timekeeper/Recorders: Andrew Garner, Pam Ficken ©, Carl Lawton © - Judges: Shaun Lightman (Chief), Elizabeth & Simon Benson Race Organiser/Starter: Dave Hoben - Hospitality: Cyclopark, Gravesend - First Aid: Medical Despatch

Virtual Result							
Mark Williams	Birchfield H	15km	85.57 M55	Cath Duhig ©	CA Millennium	10km	63.15 w ₆₅
Mark Bernatzki	LA/Herten Ger	10km	71.42 M ₅₀	Karen Williams	Birchfield H	10km	85.05 w55
Ron Penfold	Steyning AC	5km	36.58 м80				
Tony Perkins ©	Ilford AC	5km	51.21 м70				

This newsletter gives the briefest information about the ERWL and more detailed results and a broader perspective of the race walking scene is available from the *Race Walking Record*, the *Essex Walker* and *Heel and Toe*.

Race Walking Record

Published promptly at the end of each month. Lots of local information noel.carmody@outlook.com Lots of local information dave ainsworth@yaho

Essex Walker
Lots of local information

Lots of local information Australian pub dave ainsworth@yahoo.co.uk stuwalks@ya

Heel and Toe online
Australian publication out Tuesdays
stuwalks@yahoo.com.au