## Cecil Gittins Memorial Races (Permit: RWA23031-1 Cat B)

4th June at Cyclopark, Gravesend

10km			10km		
1 Jonathan Hobbs	Ashford AC	51.43 ѕм	1 Grazia Manzotti	Tonbridge AC	56.51 w50
2 Dave Annetts	North Herts RR	51.47 м55	2 Jacqueline Benson	Ashford AC	61.44 u23
3 Ian Richards ©	Steyning AC	56.13 м75	3 Sue Davies	Aldershot FD	70.29 w55
4 Colin Harle	Belgrave H	64.54 м50	4 Kathy Smith	Aldershot FD	74.35 w55
5 John Arthur	Ilford AC	67.11 м60	5 Noel Blatchford	Abingdon AC	75.33 w75
6 Simon Morgan	Ilford AC	67.19 м55	dnf Melanie Peddle	Loughton AC	7.5km W55
7 John Borgars ©	Loughton AC	67.40 M757.5km`	5km		
8 Chris Flint ©	Surrey WC	81.45 м75	1 Abigail Jennings	Aldershot FD	<b>25.18</b> u23
5km			2 Jessica Wilton	Ashford AC	<b>27.39</b> u17
1 Chris Hobbs	Ashford AC	33.28 м65	3 Lola-Mae Billingham	Aldershot FD	<b>30.40</b> u17
2 Tony Wilkinson	unattached	34.25 м60	4 Paula Elmslie	Ashford AC	<b>36.24</b> u20
3 Dave Hoben	Surrey WC	39.15 м70	5 Shaheda Arthur	llford AC	54.57 w60
4 Ed Shillabeer ©	Ilford AC	45.14 м80	2.5km		
5 Dave Ainsworth ©	Ilford AC	<b>48.29</b> м70	Elin Wilson	Ashford AC	<b>14.36</b> u13

Timekeeper/Recorders: Andrew Garner, Pam Ficken ©, Carl Lawton ©

Judges: Shaun Lightman (Chief), Elizabeth & Simon Benson Race Organiser/Starter: Dave Hoben - Hospitality: Cyclopark, Gravesend - First Aid: Medical Despatch

## Virtual Result

Mark Williams	Birchfield H	15km	85.57 M55	Cath Duhig ©
Mark Bernatzki	LA/Herten Ger	10km	71.42 м50	Karen Williams
Ron Penfold	Steyning AC	5km	36.58 м80	
Tony Perkins ©	Ilford AC	5km	51.21 м70	

Veterans AC were pleased to host the eighth running of this event on the dedicated Cyclo - circuit. In all there were 24 starters which was an increase from 2022. The weather was picture perfect, with a cooling breeze on the exposed course.

There was a new winner of the ladies 5k, Abigail Jennings (AFD) in 25:18, Abigail was also the overall winner for the first time. The men's 5k was won for the 2nd year running by the present RWA President, Chris Hobbs (Ashford AC) in a fine time of 33:28.



CA Millennium

Birchfield H

10km 63.15 w65

10km 85.05 w55

The new winner of the ladies' 10k was Grazia Manzotti (Tonbridge AC) in 56:51, just a few seconds short of her personal best. There was also a new winner of the men's 10k, Jonathan Hobbs from Ashford AC in 51:43, after a long battle with Dave Annetts (N Herts RR) close on his heels. Ex-Olympian Ian Richards was in third place, looking forward to this year's harvest of medals, now in new M75 age group.

There were two newbies from Ashford AC, Ellin Wilson and Paula Elmslie, who did well on the testing course. It probably wasn't a PB scenario, however Kathy Smith (AFD) managed one.

Jonathan Hobbs, winner of last year's UK Centurion 100 miles event presented the prizes, which were QPR souvenirs to honour Cecil Gittins football club

## Next ERWL Fixture - Experience a traditional Race Walk on 8<sup>th</sup> July at The Annual Moulton Walks 5 mile & Junior/Novice 1 mile

More details and entries at: moulton5challenge.weebly.com or from George Wilkinson on 07376 808 650 Entry Fees u17 free others £10 – memento to all competitors

Kindly assist the organisers by entering in advance or indicating your intention to support this event